Diversity Leadership Society


Diversity Leadership Society

Group of people at a Brewers tailgate

The Diversity Leadership Society is a diverse group of individuals that are working to ensure every family in the counties of Milwaukee, Waukesha, Ozaukee, and Washington has the opportunity to flourish; no matter their gender, age, ethnicity, and geography.

Member Criteria

Annual individual gift of $1,200 or more

Member Benefits

Recognition in the United Way Leadership Registry (optional)

Exclusive invitations to member events and volunteer opportunities

Additional educational and networking opportunities

Open All
 Diversity Leadership Society Council Co-chairs

Grady L. Crosby, Johnson Controls

Jasmine M. Johnson, iHeartMedia, Inc.

DeVona Wright Cottrell, GMR Marketing

 Diversity Leadership Society Council Members

Ron Adams, Northwestern Mutual

Darlene Austin, Quarles & Brady LLP

David Bowles, Creative Marketing Resources

Vincent Holly, Nesco Resource

Samantha Maldonado, Kohl's Corporation

Greg Marshall, CI Design

Michele Matthai, Rockwell Automation

Latrice Milton-Knighton, Sterling Law Offices, S.C.

Judge Derek Mosley, Milwaukee Municipal Court

Kaaren Neuendorf, Northwestern Mutual

Reducing Barriers to Employment & Advancement

One of the key objectives of this network is to reduce barriers to employment and advancement for local, diverse individuals.

All adults of working age in our community should have the opportunity to obtain permanent employment where they can earn a livable wage at a workplace where they are treated with dignity and respect. Diversity Leadership Society identifies and connects organizations that are successfully removing barriers to employment and building bridges to close the opportunity gaps. Milwaukee and surrounding communities have the largest employment gap between black and white Americans of any metropolitan area in the country.

In response, United Way's Diversity Leadership Society is heading up a new initiative to reduce barriers to employment and advancement for local, diverse individuals.


Building Bridges Video


Diversity Business Match

New and increased corporate gifts from female-led or minority-led businesses are tripled by Johnson Controls. Up to $5,000 per company for a total match of $100,000. The matching dollars will go to Reducing Barriers to Employment & Advancement.

Pledges will be matched July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022 until the dollar values stated above have been met.

Get Involved

For questions or more information about joining the Diversity Leadership Society, please contact Samantha Mitchell via email or at 414.263.8202.

Translate Site

© 2021 United Way of Greater Milwaukee & Waukesha County is a 501(C)(3) Nonprofit registered in the US under EIN: 39-0806190.